How to Get Married in...

Here's the rundown of same-sex marriage laws in the three new states:  Delaware, Rhode Island and Minnesota:

Delaware

  • first date to apply: July 1, 2013 
  • Waiting Period: 24 hours after license is issued
  • Witnesses: 2
  • Blood Test: None 
  • Divorce Decree Required: Yes
  • Fee: $50 for state residents; $100 for non-residents
  • Where to Apply: Office of the County Clerk of Peace

Rhode Island

  • first date to apply: August 1, 2013
  • Waiting Period: None
  • Witnesses: 2
  • Blood Test: None 
  • Divorce Decree Required: Yes
  • Fee: $24
  • Where to Apply: City or Town Clerk's office in the city where the marriage will take place

Minnesota

  • first date to apply: August 1, 2013 
  • Waiting Period: 5 business days after license is issued (can be waived with a court order)
  • Witnesses: 2 
  • Blood Test: None 
  • Divorce Decree Required: Yes
  • Fee: $40 or $110, depending on if you've taken premarital education classes 
  • Where to Apply: A County Registrar's office
| Permalink
Comments
Post has no comments.
Post a Comment




Captcha Image

Trackback Link
http://www.14stories.com/BlogRetrieve.aspx?BlogID=5344&PostID=320974&A=Trackback
Trackbacks
Post has no trackbacks.